I am a Nerd, Thank You Very Much

I am socially awkward. I am introverted. Rather than going out with my friends, partying, or patrolling for cute guys, I like to stay in and read, or write, or watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I love Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, Firefly, Narnia, Legend of the Seeker, X-Men, Primeval, Star Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Portal, the list goes on. I am a nerd. A nerd I say!

However, my sister says I’m not a nerd. She says I’m not cool enough to be a nerd.

So in recent events, the “nerd” has grown in popularity. Except not really. Things that used to be looked down upon have suddenly sprung up as not only being socially acceptable, but endorsed. But these supposed “nerds” are not actually nerds. The popular people are still the popular people on the top of the food pyramid, and the socially awkward people are still on the bottom. As one of my favorite memes would say:

 Image

It took me a long time to accept my identity as a nerd. People made fun of me, called me weird, and teased me, hissing out nerd like Basilisk venom. I used to lie awake at bed at night wishing as hard as anyone ever could to be anyone else but myself, wishing not to be a nerd.

It took years, and the vlogbrothers, to accept that part of myself. But I did accept it. And not only that, I learned to love that part of myself. And now, all of the sudden, the same people who cursed me with the name have now stolen it from me. They’ve stolen it from us. They’ve stolen our identity.

Well, who am I now? Where the hell do I belong? I can’t be a nerd, I’m still not “popular”, so where does that leave me?

It leaves me in the desert on a horse with no name.

It leaves me standing on a beach with naught but a name and your word it’s the one I need.

And I don’t care if Shakespeare thinks that a name doesn’t matter, and that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. Name does matter. And I have lost mine.

No. No I have not. I am not just going to sit idly by, blooming on the walls, while something so important to me is stripped away like hair on Michael Phelps. No can do. I reclaim my nerdom, clamping it close to my heart with white-knuckled fists. You cannot take away my name.

Dear people who think they can just put on a pair of glasses and call themselves a nerd, GTFO. This is my territory, and I intend to keep it. I plan to defend my title as vigorously as Dr. McCoy defends his. I intend to keep it like Smeagol keeps the Ring. I mean to fight for it like Peter does for Narnia. And for Aslan! And I shall treasure it like Snape does Lily. Always.

Best Wishes,

thenerdfightingfeminist

11 thoughts on “I am a Nerd, Thank You Very Much

  1. Heidemarie Bärbel Maasdorf says:

    I don’t know what goes on in those peoples’ minds who always run fanatically after all fashion trends. I feel bad for them. But just like every other fashion crazy… it comes and it goes. What bothers me the most is when GUYS try to dress like the “sophisticated philosopher-nerd from the 50’s who doesn’t give a damn.” When in reality philosophy and culture are mere afterthoughts after they have spent an hour coordinating their outfit. Side-note: why do some people think they can use philosophy and culture as a reason to look down on the humble and honest?
    I still struggle sometimes with accepting my nerdiness, but having friends who love me the way I am sure helps. Your friends are very lucky to have you in their lives, nerdfightingfeminist.

  2. Heidemarie, thanks for commenting! You are so right. I took an intro to philosophy class last year, and there was some guy in the same class as me who is just as you describe. Hello? You’re in an intro class. Therefore you obviously know more than me, who is in your same class.
    In my opinion, people like that are missing the entire point of philosophy. It’s not supposed to be a reason to put yourself on a pedestal; philosophy is to teach you how to think about yourself, other people, and the world a little differently. Philosophy is pursuit of knowledge and understanding. I feel like philosophers should be the honest and humble ones, at least if they’re taking what their learning to heart.
    By the way, have you heard of the vlogbrothers? One is named John Green and his brother is Hank. They’re on youtube. They were really the ones who helped me open up and accept myself. I love them so much. You see, people who follow them are called nerdfighters; and nerdfighters are people who, instead of being made up of organs and tissue, are made of awesome. I have a feeling you have awesomeness running through your veins instead of blood.
    Thank you so much for the kind reply. I hope I see you around here again 🙂 Your friends are very lucky to have you too.

    –nerdfightingfeminist

    • Heidemarie Bärbel Maasdorf says:

      I have heard of the vlogbrothers! In fact, a friend of mine has a nerdfighter’s t-shirt just like the one you have on in your picture. She showed me a video by John Green once where he talks about Roman history and I just watched one, after you mentioned them, called “1000 VIDEOS!!!” I’ll have to ask her how to get a nerdfighter’s t-shirt, so that she and I can walk around twinsies on campus. I look forward to your next post!
      ~Heidemarie

  3. like this says:

    Hey there from across the sea! This is just what I was hunting for, and you nailed it. Thx

  4. inkAngel365 says:

    Really? Really, you like to watch Firefly and Star Wars? How does that work exactly when you have never seen an episode of Firefly or Return of the Jedi? Just because you write something on the internet does not give you the right to spout lies like someone ran over a fire hydrant.

    • How dare you impugn my honor, random citizen. I do like to watch Firefly and Star Wars. I have seen all of the Star Wars movies, including those unfortunate prequels with the attractive actors. Granted, I haven’t seen all of Firefly yet, but I have only recently discovered it and I love it deeply. I do not tell lies, and you may lay to that. Use Veritaserum if you must, but you shall find no immodesty!
      Best Wishes,
      NF

  5. An interesting dialogue is worth comment. I think that you need to write extra on this subject, it won’t be a taboo topic but generally persons are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  6. vitamin says:

    This is definitely the thing I’ve been rummaging for! Superb and cheers!

Leave a Reply

